LET THE SUN SHINE

In this world that we live in, lots and tons of things conspire to drive us off the path we choose. Work, events and other things that are either important or not. They conspire and try their best to derail us. Depending on the individual and prevailing situations, these phenomena succeed or fail. I have been at the receiving end of this conspiracy in the past few weeks, and that has encouraged my writing this week.Image

A lot has happened in the past few weeks. When I say a lot, I mean just that. Personally, officially, emotionally, locally, nationally and of course internationally. I cannot say which of the matters is currently the ‘hottest’ but I know one way or the other, the remnants still have their effects on my daily life.

Some days ago, I asked myself what I represent to people. It was in an effort aimed at seeing if I lived the actual way I want to, a way that makes me fulfilled. I get to try my best to take stock of my day before drifting off into dreamland every day, and that question came as a result of the mental exercise. I therefore thought to share this in a manner that will be beneficial to everyone.

We lead our lives in different ways, ways that add or take away something from fellow humans. The major thing that has always been on my mind is how to live the kind of life that brings sunshine to as many lives as I come in contact with. I may not be living that to the fullest just yet, but I will in every way try to be that man, that guy, that individual, who represents sunshine to people.

I daily see people- well-dressed lads, radiant looking lasses, comfortable and happy looking men and women. Truth however is that not all these people have sunshine in their lives. Their lives inside may not be as radiant and colorful as it looks on the outside. It may be due to their fault or not. That is not my concern, the thing I am after is to add sunshine to someone’s life every day.Image

It is a difficult thing to do I admit. I will still try my best to bring sunshine to the lives I come in contact with. This is what I also want people to do as from today. The first question you should ask yourself is what you bring to people’s lives daily. I work in a place where there are reasons to want to mix with some people and ignore others, but the truth is I always want to be on shift with some folks. This is because they add value and sunshine to my work and make it seem so simple.

I may be wrong, but watch it when folks do not want to be where you are, it is possibly because you are not adding what they need to them. You are possibly not adding enough value and sunshine to them. The words we speak, our actions and inactions, our behavior and comportment, all have this impact that we do not know which could in some instances be encouraging or devastating, as the case may be.

I therefore seek to appeal to your sensibility, that you do your ‘things’ in a way that brings sunshine to that dull place, that adds sunshine to that dark situation. You should be the reason someone is smiling, giggling and of course by extension, laughing.

Closing this week, I want to say a very happy birthday to Fisayo Adetoye. You have been my friend, brother, confidant, encourager and more than I can ever say. I am so happy to be associated with you, you bring sunshine to my life and I love you a whole lot brother. Emi gigun ati Alafia paddy mi. God bless you.

**Pictures sourced from http://www.google.com

 

About oscarpoems

Finds great pleasure in reading and writing my thoughts. Chartered Animal Scientist, writes poems and articles for leisure and fulfillment. Lover of God, country and humanity.
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to LET THE SUN SHINE

  1. Adetayo Adeyemi says:

    Seye Dearest, I’m sorry I didn’t get to read any of your reflections or “musings” until today…I don’t know how honest/critical you expect my comment to be seeing as other people get to read this…this is good I mean it could all come together someday to become some really sought after memoirs..that been said I find this particular piece a bit redundant…do u know ow many times u used ‘value and Sunshine’ yes I agree u were writing abt sunshine but isn’t that suppose to be metaphorical…u kept saying the same thing in so many words…making it come out like just an entry in a diary…which might be what u were doing anyway in which case you can ignore me…all in all u have done well..and I couldn’t have written it better.

  2. AdewoleSK says:

    9ice peace! Great sense of humour uv got! Ur piece depicts! *smile*

  3. AdewoleSK says:

    9ice piece! Great sense of humour uv got! Ur piece depicts! *smile*
    9ice composition too! Keep it up Bro!

  4. Fisayo Adetoye says:

    Thanks a lot broda mi. Youre one in a million and I’ll forever cherish you. I love you man.

  5. ENIOLA says:

    Well, Well, Well, I was taught to “Let my Light shine before Men, that they may see my Good Works”, I guess I hold the key to someone’s Happiness one way or the other.
    Thumbs up Bro, I appreciate u a lot and wanna use dis Medium to thank u for d piece i got from u, enjoy

  6. Ayobola Raji says:

    Wen I lost all my bbm contacts nd kudnt remember my Twitter password, I kept tryin to get ur pin cos in one sentence’ U do add sunshine to my lyf’. I hope I do too

  7. Paul says:

    Alwaz on point bro!!! Dz is wot our politicians lack, Op any of them get 2 read dz $ put it into practise, so that Nigerians ‘ll be api 2 b identifed with Nigeria. Good job man!

  8. Lois says:

    OMG! Powerful stuff! Wow,you are an amazing writer.

  9. Oloye becky says:

    Dis is ur talent wic God has blessed u wit…let it shine till d whole world know. More wisdom 2 u.

  10. Tola says:

    Nice1 bro! Adetayo has a point too but ​U̶̲̥̅̊ must b aware that perfectionism is a good trait but it kills productivity if care’s not taken. d best bet is τ̅☺ strike a balance btw perfection n productivity. It’s better to choose productivity n then allow perfection τ̅☺ set i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊. Let ♍Ƹ put it straight: Seye, d most important thing that qualifies a good writer is being able τ̅☺ write as it comes n still make sense(which ​U̶̲̥̅̊ have done). However, listening τ̅☺ criticisms as well as suggestions(either correct or wrong) n digesting them τ̅☺ see which one works n Ђσω it works for ​U̶̲̥̅̊ opens ones eyes τ̅☺ untapped potentials. ¶ adore ur courage as a writer n ¶ agree with ur opinions. Bless ​U̶̲̥̅̊.

Leave a Reply

