AND YET ANOTHER ONE EXITS…

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2013. THERE SHOULD BE LOTS TO READ AND DISCUSS HERE THIS YEAR BY GOD’S GRACE. I WILL TRY PUSH THE DISTRACTIONS AND WHAT HAVE YOU TO THE BACK EVEN AS I SHARE WITH YOU FROM MY INNER MOST THOUGHTS. WHILE I WAS DOING THE PIECE FOR THIS WEEK, THE NEWS BROKE OF THE PASSAGE OF A FATHER FIGURE IN MY LIFE. I THEREFORE LEFT EVERY OTHER THING TO PEN THIS TRIBUTE TO CELEBRATE THE LIFE OF ENGR. (DR.) OLUSEGUN AJANI ADEGBOYEGA WHO WENT TO BE WITH THE LORD ON THE 2ND OF JANUARY. PLEASE TAKE A FEW MINUTES TO READ AND LEARN FROM THIS LIFE. BLESS!!!

Peerless Innovation Ltd

Whoever told me my first blog post of the year will be a tribute would have been rebuked without second thought. It however played itself out again as the news broke of the passage of Engr. (Dr.) Segun Adegboyega; a brother, an uncle, a father and one who was regularly concerned about all of us.

The second day of the year started on a very happy note for me. Work and all went smooth. I even had the great news of the birth of a baby into a family we hold dear. A family that suffered barrenness for over two and half decades with the first child after the father has attained three scores on this planet. Cheering news indeed. It all changed in the afternoon when I got home and right at the door, the sad news was broken to me.

I took in the dry harmattan air and a bitter taste coursed through my mouth. As bitter as the sorrow in the London home of the departed. I cannot say per se how the pangs of hunger left me but everything just looked like it had stopped. I picked up my phone and decided to look through my Facebook thread. The first post I saw was that of my Pastor cousin. It was true, Daddy Ore has passed on.

Dr. Segun Adeboyega was a man of many parts to many people. There are too many things I cannot say or write. He was one who doggedly followed his dreams. He got all the education he could up to his doctorate level. Pre-ND and National Diploma from the  Federal Polytechnic Ilaro, his Bachelor’s degree in University of Ilorin. He proceeded to Tanzania for his Master’s degree.

On arrival from Tanzania, he formed the Student Association of St. Paul’s Apostolic Church which metamorphosed into the present day Salvation Proclaimers Anointed Church. He always gathered the young ones, students in different levels of their education, from primary to tertiary, gave them inspiring talks and lectures every Saturday evening.  He went as far as inviting people from outside the Church for seminars, to address the students.

I remember vividly that I was in his bridal train as a six year old. The buzz was everywhere during the weeks leading up to the wedding. The ‘Mobola weds Segun’ souvenir is still available in my family house.

He thereafter got a Commonwealth scholarship to study in the United Kingdom. Dr. Adegboyega was loved by all and sundry. He constantly put us on our feet. Before anything, he would ask about your academics. That was Uncle Segun as many called him.

Tributes have rolled in from those we know as friends and family here in Nigeria. I am sure it is the same in the United Kingdom where he was based. Baba Ore will always greet you with “ema nlee”. He was not one to look down on anyone. He gave to people as if his life depended on it and remembered everyone of us by name. He did not class people based on class or cash.

He was a colossus, whose life will always be a lesson to us all in humility, selflessness and loyalty. Dipo Owoyemi wrote “Akowe Ajani was what my mum fondly called you. Akowe indeed, you followed your passion for education with the whole of your heart right from ND to PhD…”

Emmanuel Olulola said “Uncle Segun, I feel part of your assignments on earth is to ‘make people’ which you have done with all zeal. Sleep on Daddy Ore”. A lot of other people also bared their minds in black and white but the fact remains that Uncle Segun or Daddy Ore as different people called him is no more, but his labour of love remains still.

A builder of lives, a maker of men, an encourager, and a determined achiever has gone to be with the Lord. Many lives owe their achievements to you Baba Ore. I remember too many to put in this piece. This is the way I can grieve, the only way I can mourn. I pray Aunty Mobola and the beautiful children the fortitude to bear the irreparable loss.

A word for the family he left behind – Passing through this phase of life could be as through fire but remember, an angel went through the fire with the Hebrew boys (Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego). You are not alone in all of these. God is with you.

Ma sun olufe

 ki o si maa sinmi

Gbori le aya olugbala re

 A fe o sugbon Jesu fe o ju

Sun re; sun re; sun re

Uncle Segun goodnight, o digba o. We’ll meet at the saviour’s feet.

I am @oscarpoems

About oscarpoems

Finds great pleasure in reading and writing my thoughts. Chartered Animal Scientist, writes poems and articles for leisure and fulfillment. Lover of God, country and humanity.
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to AND YET ANOTHER ONE EXITS…

  1. Ajewole Lawrence says:

    He’s in a much better place. May he rest in Peace

  2. Obviously your write-up has really pictured Uncle Segun.

  3. Oluwabukunmi Onatade Oyewole says:

    Hmmmmm! So touching, unfortunately I wasn’t privileged to meet d departed but from all I’ve read from diff angles I also submit dat he was a gud man. God understands all. I advice all to live ‘this life’ well n be remembered for GOOD. This man left an indelible foot print in d sand dune of times. May the great Comforter console all he left behind.

  4. AyB.Blog says:

    Sun re o Daddy ore…..

  5. oluwaseun says:

    Like the picture above rightly depicts, life is too short but what we leave behind is eternal. sleep on beloved.

  6. ‎​Dípo. owoyemi says:

    I have bin looking forward to your write-up. “Ema nlee” that is how he greets,when I read that part it flashed back the memory of childhood. You are always getting better with each of ΰя articles. I’m sure this will put a smile on the face of the family he left behind. Ki olorun fi orun ke eni rere. I’m sure he will have a lot to gist mama and baba owoyemi when they meet in heaven(if the saint in christ remember wot happened on earth). Good nite uncle segun

    • oscarpoems says:

      The spirit behind the post is to celebrate the memory of a great man. “E ma nlee” is one word that has stuck. That’s how I have been greeting my Mum for the past few years. God rest his soul

  7. Damilare says:

    In due time God will crush death under his feet. Meanwhile we who stand upright on this side of eternity ought to watch steadfastly. Live God’s kind of Life… Anytime death knocks, it is a message for us all.

    I pray the family will find comfort in this time. No human words can bring solace, so may God himself turn this into a medley of joy somehow, somehow…

    Your writeup is surely a honour to your uncle. May you never have reason to write such again. Except if the person is old and FULL of years.

  8. agunbiade olusegun caleb says:

    May his soul rest in perfect peace!! And for the rest of us remaining on the surface of the earth may we continually do good and be good.

  9. Ade Akin says:

    Well done Seye…… We are all missing Uncle Segun………Every effort to rationalise his demise refuse to jell together. We can’t question you Lord……

  10. lordrooz says:

    Bless his soul! I felt like I have known this man all of my life……a lesson of life, a collosus of a man! Nice one seye….this is touching and I know the Dr. Will steer and smile in his grave. He indeed left a legacy!

  11. Grace says:

    This is beautiful Still feels like yesterday .. Rest in peace Daddy in the other house!

Leave a Reply

