BEST MAN DUTY #6

CONGRATULATIONS TO ANU AND SAMMY AS THEY TAKE THEIR VOWS AND LIVE AS ONE FROM TODAY. HONEYMOON UNENDING AND LOVE DAILY RENEWED BY THE GRACE OF THE ALMIGHTY

Read previous episodes…
BMD 1 on http://wp.me/p2tpoY-a1

BMD 2 on http://wp.me/p2tpoY-a4

BMD 3 on http://wp.me/p2tpoY-a8

BMD 4 on wp.me/p2tpoY-ag

BMD 5 on 

Thanks for reading, and please use the comment box below…xoxoxoxoxoxo

*****************************************************

I looked at Queen’s sleeping form and smiled. Oh, my Queen, the paragon of beauty at whose sight heads turn and men drool. She never stopped making me giddy with excitement when I reminisce on her impact in my dramatic life. This morning was no exception.

She lay peacefully, like a baby without a bother in the world. Despite the very bad argument we had the previous night, her hand hung across my chest. No matter how heated our regular disagreements, she would hold me tight whenever she slept over as if something or someone was going to steal me away.

Much as I have come to appreciate what Queen means to me and how she has steadied the turbulence in my life, there was the nagging issue of regular disagreements. We hardly stayed a week without arguing. It was either her short fuse getting lost, my attention to detail pissing her off, her vanity irritating me, my stance on issues annoying her or other flimsy things.

Of course, top on the list of the reasons for our issues was the very many Eves around me. She refused to trust me despite the fact that I had at different times taken the pain to explain what each of them represented at different points. There were those I met while trying to get clients in ‘the line of duty’, there were some I met based on referrals, there were others into whose hands she drove me herself, and there were those ones that came with baggage from the past. She just would hear nothing of me and any other woman. I could not disconnect with every other female because of her when we had yet to take vows.

If the creator chose to bless me with a bevy of beauties in looks, brain, brawn and attitude, who am I to reject them? They abounded in different zones: the shag to paddy zone, the no-strings-attached zone, the just-friends zone, the ‘I-appreciate-our-friendship-but-will-not-hesitate-to-shag-you’ zone, the go-away zone and others. Queen was in a zone of her own but my baby would just not see it.

I no wan see any of them around you. I wanna have you all to myself”, she would say but will never stop fighting me. I have asked myself countlessly why I stay around the good looking hot head. She would not know but she already made me cut down on my excesses with women. I had less time for women and was already putting her on my blackberry display picture with different PMs. There was the “Queen of the manor”, there was “Empress”, there was “buttercup” and many others among the names I used as my PM while she reigned on my DP. I was getting a few jealous teases from people, especially those ‘zoned’ babes and those from the past but I was proud and happy to finally flaunt one that tickled me where the others had not.

She stirred and I looked down at her from where my back  rested against the bed post. Slowly she opened her hazel eyes, the beautiful eyes in which I have drowned. I had never seen a female who looked so beautiful upon waking. Physically, Queen is stunning, and I can say that again and again without  fear of contradiction.

“Whether na wetin dey affect my head be that sef”, I mused as I smiled and cleared my throat – “Good morning pretty head”. She looked at me, then got up and went into the bathroom without saying a word. I smiled and looked at my bedside clock as I got out of bed to put on my old baseball jersey, the same one whose exact female version she wore whenever she was in my house. She came out of the bathroom and sat in front of the huge mirror I placed in the room because of her.

“Queen”, I called. She turned to face me with a “what do you want?” expression. I sighed, paused for a few minutes and spoke again. She was still bitter about the issue of the previous night.

“What exactly do you want to hear after the explanation I gave you? I told you Zee’s one of the folks I met at Sam’s wedding in PH”. She rolled her eyes and continued dabbing the cotton wool in her hand with the face cleanser.

“How did you find out there’s a Zee somewhere sef you troublesome young woman?”. I was losing my cool. If there was anything I hated, it was being ignored. It disgusts me to speak to someone and get no response. She knew it and would keep doing it if I did not start ranting.

“Dotun leave me alone”, she spoke, a notch slightly higher than normal, and got up. I stood right in front of her and tried to hold her hand but she shook me off – “I said leave me alone you this man. Something else dey am?”

“Don’t you ever shout at me”, I spoke with annoyance. It was not the first time I was telling her to not shout at me. She maybe saw the anger in my eyes and calmed down a bit. Her petulance still bothered me as she turned away, sat,  hissing and soliloquizing.

“Shameless he-goat. That’s why his business has been slow of recent. Imagine leaving me and going after different silly girls as if I deny him anything”

I drew her arm roughly as the annoyance in me threatened to boil over.

“My business going through a lull is none of your frigging business if you won’t support me. You stalk me and I let it slide; you insult me in public and I don’t complain; you won’t gimme the needed rest of mind and want me to be creative enough to do other things apart from business”

“Leave me Dotun. You’re hurting my arms that way o!” She was struggling to get away but I did not let go.

“Do you rough handle your hoes this way?”

“Queen!!! Are you mad??? Where you see ho?”

“You left for Port Harcourt with two-seventeen BBM contacts, you returned with two-eighteen. You think I wouldn’t find out who the new one is abi? You have failed at your game big head”

You nor dey shame? You dey stalk my phone looking for an increase or decrease in my BBM contacts? Keep looking o, you go soon find wetin trowey for your hand. Ode oshi

With that I let go of her arm and left for the living room. If I did not leave that room, I cannot predict what I would have done.

************************************************

The day went by really fast. I did not plan leaving the house all day but the grand argument with the troublesome young woman I call my girlfriend left me seething and I knew I had to go somewhere if I was going to maintain my sanity. I have at many times questioned why I keep hoping Queen will change but she has not just shown that sign at all.

After our shouting match, I had left the room to recline on the living room couch. Only a few people make me lose my cool and Queen is one of them. She however knew how to get me back in the right frame of mind. Much as I love her, I would not go ahead and marry her with that kind of attitude. The next thing she did was to pick her stuff and walk out of the house without saying a word. It was mixed feelings as I saw her take a walk. Part of me wanted to go after her and talk her into a reconciliation but the other part knew I had to let her go.

Shortly after she left, I drifted into a well needed sleep that was interrupted by my ringing phone. Seeing the number, I knew it was Sam. That was my cue to look at my blackberry, the one Queen always called her rival.

There were unread pings and emails, lots of them. Expecting some clients to reach out to me, I rubbed sleep off my eyes and sprang up. I needed to recoup part of the money spent at the wedding and pay some bills. Somewhere from deep down however, I wished there were messages from Queen and the one babe that was starting to fade from memory, Cynthia, the one I call Best Girl.

The trouble Queen put me through overnight and in the early part of the day was not enough for me to not to have the Best Girl stray into my thoughts again. I still longed to see and spend time with her. Pretty, with the kind of full smile that would drain any world class athlete of stamina. Funny thing is Queen is equally stunning, if not better looking but I do not know where the pull to the Best Girl came from.

My phone rang again and I answered without looking at the screen. The familiar way in which the person spoke made me do what I should have done initially; look at the caller ID –  Zee. I tried to be normal during the call but the fact that she was the reason Queen started trouble did not make me flow with her. She noticed this and asked what was wrong but I was not in the mood for familiarizing. I feigned sleepiness and had her end the call with a promise to call back.

I picked up my blackberry device to read my pings, when I realised the cause of her call. I smiled, put down the phone and went to take a shower. I had to get out of the house and get my head into something better than matters that had to do with the opposite gender.

*******************************************************

Days had rolled into weeks and Best Girl was forgotten. Zee however kept asking for a ‘proper’ meet-up in Lagos which she got effortlessly. Queen had abandoned ship and was only pinging to stay in touch. She would not answer calls or reply pings on time. It was just casual “hello, good morning” and “hope your day was fine, goodnight” messages we exchanged. Things were breaking down really fast, cracks were evident and there were those who were ready to take advantage of these cracks. Each time I asked to see her, she always had an excuse. This made it easy for me to have time for the ‘reserves’.

I became a regular at our hangout bar. I would close from work and go there straight to avoid being alone. I used to taunt the clan, calling them ‘sons of the bottle’ but I had to hang with them since Queen would not give me the time we used to have. She either gave the “I’m closing late” or “I have Church programme” excuse. Other times it was the “I’m not feeling good” or the “I’ll be away on official duty” excuse. I missed her a lot and reached out severally, efforts that were futile.

Sam did not frequent the hangout anymore. Femi and the clan said it was because he was now married but I knew there were times when he was out of town chasing some business deals. Those were deals I knew a few things about, but had to be kept under wraps till it was done because within the clan, we had a few leaking mouths who bragged to their other friends that they have friends doing well in their businesses. When we were together, Sam would call them “idiots with leaking oral cavities”.

I arrived the bar to meet Farouk and one of his ‘other’ friends and some babes. I would ordinarily not have sat with them but for the presence of the ladies. I don’t know how nature has made it so but I have met a few after Queen decided to go AWOL and saying they are equally good looking is stating the obvious.

“Whaddup guys”, I said fist bumping Farouk and the other guy. I took the seat directly facing the one who caught my fancy among the ladies and said a very cheery hello to her. She grinned in response and I joined the conversation, still keeping an eye on my phone alone.

“Phamo, I don dey grounded for Meeting Point o. Wey you”, I typed into my chat with Femi. Almost instantly, he replied with the driving emoji.

I looked up and added a few words to the ebola gist that was going on. Farouk in his usual manner had started saying different non-existent things and had started pissing me off but I tried hard not to antagonize him.

“See, one just has to be hygienic. The virus isn’t infectious until the carrier is down. Best bet however is to get early testing and detection. The few who survive mostly detected early and started treatment on time. That na the wayo wey dey am”. Dude eyed me angrily but I would not let him misinform people. If he wants to die, he’s free jor.

My blackberry gave a Facebook notification and I opened it absentmindedly

“Hello Best Boy…”

About oscarpoems

Finds great pleasure in reading and writing my thoughts. Chartered Animal Scientist, writes poems and articles for leisure and fulfillment. Lover of God, country and humanity.
This entry was posted in BEST MAN DUTY, Fiction, story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to BEST MAN DUTY #6

  1. titata says:

    Relationship & its problems.

  2. Keep it going. Nice build-up.

  3. Fred says:

    nice write up. queen the troublesome, when will she stop this?
    It might be best lady pinging. what’s next ???

  4. breeze says:

    Nice one this time, I am sure Femi won’t escape trouble this time around. Waiting eagerly for next episode.

  5. olajideobe says:

    Oh boy, a compilation of all these series would make a nice fictional novel.
    Thumb up.

  6. olaoluwakiitan says:

    Ride on Oscar, i’m loving this

  7. Deniksgal says:

    Nxt sat on my mind. Well done Oscarpoems

  8. Isaacola AA says:

    Now am wonderinng who is the hothead, Queen or Best Girl sustitute Zee…

    A typical relationship hIccup that tears relationship appart if not attended to speedily.

    • oscarpoems says:

      Hiccup o, serious one. The hot heads will do well to take a splash of very cold water.
      Really, I think the major issue with Queen and Dotun is communication. Leave his philandering for a sec, they can do better if they sit and talk instead of fighting always.
      Thanks boss

  9. amarachi uwazie says:

    Chai ! Is as if the storry shud continue. Really interesting.

  10. moskeda says:

    And she finally appeared!
    Can’t wait to see what goes down.
    Meanwhile Dotun should just make things right with Queen. I like her
    Lovely series Seye. I woke up this morning and found this. I won’t lie, I never read my Bible o. Lol!
    Thanks for making my morning!

    • oscarpoems says:

      Here’s a huge salute to the boss lady at Moskedapages. Glad you found this beht read your Bible first next time Sally. Remember the nursery rhyme…read your Bible, pray everyday if you want to grow 😀
      I hope Queen and Dotun can just find a common ground
      Thanks for dropping by

  11. imotolab2014 says:

    hmm hmmm. hi best man. i just wanted to read more………

  12. ttemmy says:

    Hello best man….. I hope that’s best girl
    And Queen should just take it easy.
    Well done
    Just wish everyday is Saturday so i won’t have to wait that long to read what’s next.

  13. InsideOut says:

    Oh dear! Why do I keep imagining I had left a comment every time I open this page! Seye, you know every naa…..I eagerly await as I clutch my purse n squeeze my hrt anxiously….. *on tip-toes

    • oscarpoems says:

      You are permitted to await, just don’t clutch the purse too hard. I’ll happily relieve you of the stress.
      You know hearts are fragile too, stop squeezing 😉
      Thanks for always dropping by

  14. Whale Ogunwale says:

    Great one bro!!!

  15. Oluwabukunmi says:

    Hmmmm!
    Thank God it’s almost Saturday

Leave a Reply

